Garden Encounters

Tufted Forget-me-not

Getting in touch with nature doesn’t mean you have to travel to the wilderness. Some of the best natural encounters that I have had have occurred in the familiar surroundings of my own garden.

Summer is now very much upon us here in Ireland. This past week saw the mercury rise to over 25°C. At this time of year the garden is a hive of activity! The flowers are beginning to bloom, the blue tit’s first brood has fledged and the air is full of butterflies, bees and birds of all sorts. Much of the garden here is left to its own devices, wild flowers (or “weeds”…depending on your outlook) are encouraged alongside the planted species. Over the last few days I have been taking some snaps of what is currently blooming, or beginning to bloom.

Many of these wild flowers have been in my garden for years, but it is only in the last few months that I have been taking an interest in identifying them.

P1040276

Tufted Forget-me-not

P1040271

Common Ramping-fumitory

P1040261

Maidenhair Spleenwort

P1040262

Foxglove

 

I have mainly been using websites to help me identify the wild flowers that I happen upon (I’ll include these links at the bottom of this post), however I recently purchased the excellent “The Wild Flower Key” that I can use when I’m out and about. It’s very concise and has the most wonderful illustrations. I would very much recommend it and I think it would suit all plant enthusiasts.

I’d love to know what kind of gardens my readers have. Do you encourage/tolerate the weeds too? Or am I just lazy?

 

Links to Wild Flower websites:

Irish Wildflowers: www.irishwildflowers.ie

Wildflowers of Ireland: www.wildflowersofireland.net

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

